The Problem with Patches

Early access video games are usually really, really fun. You get to watch as the game develops and see how it changes. Later down the road, you can even start to feel nostalgic about it all. Take Rust for example.

I first bought the game off of Steam in, I believe, January of 2014. I had a blast playing it. I accumulated 106 hours or so in my first two weeks playing it. And it was great. My type of survival game. There were zombies, trees to chop down, rocks to gather, animals to kill for food and zombies. The zombies were great. They dropped some awesome loot sometimes. But they ran faster than the players, so they switched them out for zombie bears and wolves, which were easier to run from, but still dropped loot.
And then Experimental came along. The graphics were different. Upgraded. But I didn’t like the building aspect of it one bit. I stopped playing at that point.

Then, some time ago, I got back into it. I met some awesome people and am now an admin on a popular server with a good friend that I made through the game. But yesterday a new patch was released. And thongs look AMAZING! Except… Every single modded server was temporarily shut down. And once a few of them started coming back to life, I realized quickly that none of the commands or mods even work anymore. So that sucks.

I love Rust. I now love experimental Rust. But I just think that if you’re a game developer, especially in early access, work on the game that your customers bought, instead of half finishing it and completely starting from scratch.

http://youtu.be/k02aFTZvIw8

Leave a Reply

